Grave of the Fireflies

Most people look at an animated film and think "oh, this is for kids." Grave of the Fireflies, though it is animated, is for everyone. Everyone should watch it at least once, so don't be fooled by the "animated" concept. That is just the medium through which the story is told.

Grave of the Fireflies (1988), directed by Isao Takahata, is a gorgeously animated film about two siblings, a boy and a girl, struggling to survive during World War II in Japan. There is almost no action or combat scenes in this movie at all, but it clearly shows the horrors of war through the eyes of two children caught up in it.

I cried a lot. I do not think that I can ever watch this movie again, it was so haunting and it had such an affect on me, although I do not regret the experience. It is a must for understanding human nature in a time of war, and the affects that war has on ordinary people.

I hesitate to say any more, because any poor words of mine cannot describe the beauty and tragedy of this movie. I simply have to say, please watch this film with your children. I do not think you will regret it.

Although most people will want to wait until their children are in their teens, as there are some adult themes that could be hard for them to understand, but this is definitely a movie you should not pass on. It has a very vital message that everyone should hear.

Powered by Plinky

About ladyinieda

Hi! I’m Erin. I’m a phlebotomist and a freelance writer. I’ve been writing off and on since I was six years old. Hopefully it’s improved since then. ^_^
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

