Crud. Now the internet doesn't work…

I'm pretty boring and laid back about power outages.

Candle

I've been awakened by the power going out at night before. I run a fan for white noise while I sleep, and I notice when that turns off. The first thing I do (once I figure out what woke me) is to set my cell phone alarm for when I need to wake up the next day. Then I go back to sleep.

If it's before bedtime, I have a battery operated book-light that I use with my Kindle. I'll light candles so I can see enough to get around the house without banging into anything, assuming I remember where my lighter is. I don't smoke, so I tend to lose it. My flashlight is usually in my car, where it does me a whole lot of good. I'll cuddle with my cat until the power comes on or until it's bedtime, and then I'll set the alarm on my cell phone if I have to be up the next day.

During the daytime, if I'm on my laptop, I finish reading whatever it is I've been reading on the internet, and then do something else on my computer (read a story I've written, work on a story I'm currently writing, or play a silly little game) until the internet works again. Or I'll open the curtains and read a book on my Kindle while I wait for the power to come back on.

Powered by Plinky

About ladyinieda

Hi! I’m Erin. I’m a phlebotomist and a freelance writer. I’ve been writing off and on since I was six years old. Hopefully it’s improved since then. ^_^
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

