Always be Thankful for Gifts From Your Dad…

…however strange it might be, it might come in handy some day.

~KSU~ oops car in ditch

Recently, I learned to be more grateful to my father when he gives me strange gifts that have to do with my car.

For Christmas one year, my dad gave me a tow strap for my car. I opened the gift, stared at it for a few seconds, wondering what it was, and set it aside without comment. It's been in my trunk ever since, pristine, forgotten, and undisturbed in its shrink-wrap, until a couple weeks ago.

I went to a Renaissance Festival, and the parking lot was not paved. As I was leaving, I drove my car into a ditch. Do not ask me why I didn't see the ditch, as it was rather large, but there it is. I feel compelled to say that normally I'm a better driver than that.

Moving on.

No matter what I did, I could not get my car out of the ditch. A friend who was with me tried to help, and a couple guys stopped to help us as well (So far, whenever I have car trouble, someone always stops to help me. I'm not sure why or how I got so lucky, but I'm certainly not complaining. I'm very, very grateful.). One of those guys said something about getting a chain to pull my car out of the ditch, and I suddenly remembered the tow strap in my trunk.

After that, it was a simple matter to hook the strap to my car and the other guy's SUV. My car was free in maybe thirty seconds. So instead of having to wait who knows how long for a tow truck, or for someone who had a chain they'd let me borrow, I was able to thank my saviors profusely and drive home.

Where I promptly called my dad to thank him, however belatedly, for the tow strap.

Let's just hope I never need the LifeHammer thing he gave me last Christmas…

Powered by Plinky

About ladyinieda

Hi! I’m Erin. I’m a phlebotomist and a freelance writer. I’ve been writing off and on since I was six years old. Hopefully it’s improved since then. ^_^
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

