This Book = Why Did I Waste My Time Reading this Crap?

This book had potential, it really, really did. But then…well…ugh. It's been a while since I read this so my memory may be faulty on some points, but I don't care enough to read it again and clarify certain points. Most of this is an incoherent hate ramble, so I apologize for any lack of sense.

This is from Patrick Rothfuss' official website:

"Told in Kvothe's own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen.The intimate narrative of his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-ridden city, his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, and his life as a fugitive after the murder of a king form a gripping coming-of-age story unrivaled in recent literature. A high-action story written with a poet's hand, The Name of the Wind is a masterpiece that will transport readers into the body and mind of a wizard."

Sounds good, doesn't it? Too bad this wasn't the book I read. I don't recall mention of a king dying. That would have been interesting.

It might have been better if I cared about the character at all. The story starts in the future and cuts back to the past. And there's this annoying girl back there that his young self falls in love with for some reason (it's never really explained, but I assume it's because she's a whore -literally, I'm not making this up or insulting her by using this term, although he really doesn't seem to notice that this is what her profession is- and Paris Hilton hot, and he's a teenager), and no one else will do! *dramatic swoon!*

So he manages to get into the school, but he's still poor and still has to make money for tuition at the mage school. He's too good, too perfect, and he's the underdog bullied by his classmates from rich families so I'm supposed to feel sorry for his arrogant self. And I don't. He's a much more interesting character when he's the bartender in the future waiting for something bad to happen so he can use his powers against whatever it is. Still very arrogant and impressed with himself. But most of the book is in the past flash backs with the annoying girl he was so obsessed with even though some other girl threw herself at him naked, was much more interesting, and got turned down.

Then there's this dragon, which is actually an herbivore, but it's high on some stuff that's like catnip for dragons so it's running around destroying things, and he and the annoying girl are running around in the same area, for some reason. I neither remember nor care why anymore. Anyway, it's hard, but our brave hero Kvothe is smart and tough and powerful, etc., so he is able to defeat the normally harmless herbivore dragon and the annoying girl is saved. Boo.

So, my problems with this book:

1. False advertising on the back of the book, in reviews, and generally every other place I looked. This was not the story I was promised.

2. Characters: I didn't like any of them. Except for the rich bullies I'm not supposed to like because they pick on the main character and try to get him expelled from school or killed, whichever is easier to do. Then again, mostly they fail, so they're not all that anyway.

3. The author himself. He's so busy patting himself on the back for writing an awesome story that he forgot to write the awesome story. Needless to say, his name is now filed under Avoid Like Plague Even if You're Out of Books to Read.

Powered by Plinky

About ladyinieda

Hi! I’m Erin. I’m a phlebotomist and a freelance writer. I’ve been writing off and on since I was six years old. Hopefully it’s improved since then. ^_^
This entry was posted in Plinky Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

