Now what?

Last year, I found out that I won a contest with a novel I wrote. (Thank you, Storybundle!) It’s the first contest I have ever entered for writing. I have to admit that I was (yet wasn’t) surprised that my novel was included in the bundle.

This was a great experience for me, since I was just running with an idea that was fun for me, but it made me realize that I don’t know anything about self-publishing. I felt like I was in over my head, but at the same time, the idea of people reading a novel I wrote was amazing. There’s a few reviews for it on Goodreads, and I still smile when I read them.

I’m not good at marketing myself, and I barely pay attention to Twitter and Facebook. I feel like my day job is taking too much of my life away from writing and the things I think I need to do to get myself out there.

I’m busy, but I don’t do very much. I haven’t been able to focus lately either. Hence how short this post is and how long it’s been since I last posted here. I’m trying to get better.

About ladyinieda

Hi! I’m Erin. I’m a phlebotomist and a freelance writer. I’ve been writing off and on since I was six years old. Hopefully it’s improved since then. ^_^
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Now what?

  1. Congratulations! You must have some idea how important this accomplishment is, honestly. It’s a big deal to be recognized by anyone “official”. That only means the next book can only push you even further.

    Have you tried finding an agent? Or talking with a publisher about you writing books for them? Sometimes, the marketing is better left to the professionals.

    • ladyinieda says:

      Thank you. I haven’t tried finding an agent yet, but it’s what I think I want to do. I have some more work to do on my manuscript first though.

Leave a Reply

