Brainstorming

I’m getting bored with my current writing project, so I think I’ll start a new one here. I’ve been thinking about writing an urban fantasy story with elves because of a writing prompt I saw somewhere about a potbellied elf working as a plumber. This could get weird fast, but it sounds like fun so I’m going to run with it. I’ll try to post updates once or twice a week, so I actually use this blog.

Let’s get the formalities out of the way:

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Please respect my ideas and the work I put into this. Thank you very much.

Setting:

A modern day world like ours, with most current countries. Tolkien-esque elves exist along with humans. I don’t think I’ll include much shape-shifters or vampires, but orcs and goblins could be fun. I might add other races as I go. I like healers, so it’ll have those as well.

The orcs and goblins got organized under a single leader in the Horde, and are attacking the elves and humans. Initially the elves try to deal with the threat on their own, but are overwhelmed. The Horde knocks out a power grid somewhere and the humans get involved. The elven army starts conscripting talented people to serve as healers and soldiers, as well as calling veterans back into service.

Character List:

River Tsunami – a human; half Japanese and half American.  Brown eyes, brown hair. About 5’7″, athletic build. Works as a phlebotomist until she’s drafted as a healer for the Elven army.

Fehan Sunfalcon – an elf of the highly ranked family Sunfalcon. Rank in the elven army is yet to be determined, but somewhat high up. Lavender hair (it’s white but he dyes it), teal eyes. About 6’2″, standard lean and muscular elven build. Enjoys scandal, and dates humans to annoy his overbearing parents.

Solseir Rainblade- an elf of fairly low rank. Retired from the elven army to become a plumber. Drinks to keep the nightmares away from his time in service, hunting orcs. This is the one with the potbelly. ^_^

Tingo: a goblin healer. Green skin, bulbous nose, lots of sharp, pointy teeth, pointy ears and a bald head. Gray eyes. About 5’4″.

Nux: an orc, I guess. Tingo’s friend.

This is more planning than I usually do. Normally I just jump in and write a scene, making notes for later. The next update will have a story scene in it. Thanks for reading. ^_^

About ladyinieda

Hi! I’m Erin. I’m a phlebotomist and a freelance writer. I’ve been writing off and on since I was six years old. Hopefully it’s improved since then. ^_^
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

